top of page

Review: Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Now, this was a creepy tale, perfect for this time of year. If you are in the mood for a gothic tale set in 1950's Mexico: this is a book to put on your TBR. It is a quick read being only 301 pages, it can easily be finished in one sitting.



What is the synopsis of this spooky tale? Mexican socialite Noemí Taboada receives a very disturbing letter from her cousin Catalina, worried by its contents Noemí goes to High Place: a desolate manor located in a small Mexican town. When she arrives she feels something is wrong with this manor and the people in it: The father is obsessed with her beauty and fascinated by her race, the English husband of Catalina is secretive and cunning, and the house is giving her terrifying dreams. Her only ally is a man named Francis, who also seems to be hiding something as well. The high place is cornering her and she feels she may never escape.


 


"She thought she heard Virgil chuckle, but she wasn't sure. She wasn't sure of anything at all" ( Pg. 198)


 

I am a fan of gothic novels, I was one of the few students in my AP Lit class that enjoyed Wuthering Heights. I love stories that take place in these desolate manors in small towns/countryside. TV shows like The Haunting of the Hill House and Chilling Adventures of Sabrina have this setting as well and I love it so much. First, the characters were pretty great, Noemí is an icon. She is so brave to deal with what she hands to deal with, she is more than just a pretty socialite. I have pity for the sister who was trapped in that place for so long, she deserves a better fairytale. I also really liked the multiple allusions to gothic novels in this story such as Wuthering Heights, we learn from these allusions that Catalina was very imaginative: ironic that these traits contributed to the situation in the first place. Florence was not a great person, I can't go into the one thing she did that made me so mad because it will be a spoiler. Just know she is a bitter woman with a tragic past. The father who I don't even care to name was just very unsettling. He is very into eugenics which is the main reason for his fascination with Noemí. I felt very uncomfortable reading his dialogue with Noemí. Last but not least Virgil, this man is just a sociopath. That's all I am gonna say about this man, I got goosebumps multiple times because of him. Very good character but wow he spooked me.


Another very strong point of the novel was the writing, wow very atmospheric, chilling, and descriptive. I love it when the writing is so good, I can picture the scene in my head like I am watching a movie. The descriptions of the house and its cemetery and the dreams really freaked me out. For example, there are times when you are hearing descriptions of the mold in the house and its golden specs, so chilling. Now the plot, I knew there was something wrong with that family but wow it was worse than I thought. I never would have imagined it could happen but it did, I was so scared for Noemi when they wouldn't let her leave. Also the dream she had *Shivers*. This will be spoiler-free so I won't get into but wow guys chills went up to my spine. The ending was chaotic, to the point where it was a tiny bit messy but the ending makes up for it.


3.5/5 stars


~V



P.S heard this novel is going to be adapted into a Hulu limited series. So excited if this is true!


bottom of page