top of page
  • Karen

Review: A Reaper at the Gate (AEITA, #3)



Book Title: A Reaper at the Gate

Author: Sabaa Tahir

Series: An Ember in the Ashes, Book 3

Published: 12th June, 2018

Synopsis:

Beyond the Martial Empire and within it, the threat of war looms ever larger.


Helene Aquilla, the Blood Shrike, is desperate to protect her sister's life and the lives of everyone in the Empire. Yet danger lurks on all sides. Emperor Marcus, haunted by his past, grows increasingly unstable and violent, while Keris Veturia, the ruthless Commandant, capitalizes on the Emperor's volatility to grow her own power—regardless of the carnage she leaves in her path.


Far to the east, Laia of Serra knows that the fate of the world lies not in the machinations of the Martial court, but in stopping the Nightbringer. During the hunt to bring him down, Laia faces unexpected threats from those she hoped would help her, and is drawn into a battle she never thought she'd have to fight.


And in the land between the living and the dead, Elias Veturius has given up his freedom to serve as Soul Catcher. However, in doing so, he has vowed himself to an ancient power that demands his complete surrender—even if that means abandoning the woman he loves.

 

5 Fabulous, Amazing and Heartbreaking Stars!!


Buddy Read with my amazing bestie Darcey in our awesome Buddy Reads Group


First of all can I say my heart was torn and shredded so much during this book, especially during the last half of this book! There were so many twists and turns in this book and so many shocking revelations!! My heart cried out for my babies Elias, Laia and Helene. I watched as they made mistakes, I watched as they were betrayed, I watched as they were in pain, I watched as they were shown love and gave love, I watched as their whole selves and identities were taken. And I cried and sobbed and cringed as I read on and witnessed everything that they went through.


This is book that makes you love to hate it. You hate everything bad that happens and yet you love those strong emotions it is able to pour out of you. I was so excited to read the end of this series, and yet now I am super nervous. But thankfully I do have someone to suffer and vent to.


Thank you Darcey for always making our reading journeys fun and entertaining <3


Take care xx

~ Karen

bottom of page