top of page

Review: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley


Okay wow. Wow! I came into this a little wary (as someone who typically hates classics) but I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised by Frankenstein!


I can't ignore that there were a few aspects of the story that didn't make sense to me. (The science behind Frankenstein's creating his monster, how the monster became so extremely word-wise and eloquent without formal education.) The unclear timeline of the story was also very confusing. Regardless of these cons, I was wholly immersed in the novel throughout!

The plot is intriguing, the pacing excellent, the characters unique (though they all sort of talk the same; I wish that the dialogue had been better executed). Most importantly, I was creeped out of my gourd! This being a book from the early 1800s, I wasn't expecting true gruesome macabre like what we get nowadays (nor is there much of that in this book), but holy cow did Frankenstein's monster give me the willies!


Frankenstein had me hooked from start to finish. Unputdownable! 3.75/5 stars


 

Find all of my reviews at goodreads.com/warpedshelves


Happy reading!

Audrey, Warped Shelves

bottom of page