top of page

Review: The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank

“I can feel the suffering of millions and yet, if I look up into the heavens, I think that it will all come right, that this cruelty too will end, and that peace and tranquility will return again.”

I found this unexpectedly uplifting and inspiring. (Unexpected in the sense that The Diary of a Young Girl focuses more on mental despair than the physical suffering that I assumed a war story would entail.) Aside from the astonishing and informative Afterword, this Diary doesn’t focus much on the politics of WWII, which I, personally, appreciate. (Politics bore me to tears, ugh.)


“Who would ever think that so much can go on in the soul of a young girl?”

On the negative side, there was a lot of “I’m 14 and this is deep” going on, a lot of Anne whining about her mother and roommates, and a lot of gooey mooning over the only teenager of the opposite sex seen in years. At these points, I was uninterested and hoping for a swift change of subject. However, I must note that it is fascinating the way that this girl’s inner teenage struggles still resonate today. The Diary of a Young Girl is a notable coming-of-age book. I highly recommend this to young readers (early teens, like Anne), as well as to any person struggling with something daunting in their lives, or in their minds. There are so many profound messages on hope and perseverance within this book.


“The best remedy for those who are afraid, lonely, or unhappy is to go outside, somewhere where they can be quite alone with the heavens, nature, and God.”

Anne’s voice is a focal aspect of this story. She has a real knack for drawing in the reader and illustrating scenes with ease. This Diary is supremely immersive. I greatly enjoyed Anne’s humor and her honesty. It makes me sad to think that she didn’t live to see her dreams of becoming a writer come to fruition as she has incredibly noteworthy talent. Her passion is tangible; my soul has been touched. 4/5 stars


“Riches can all be lost, but that happiness in your own heart can only be veiled, and it will still bring you happiness again, as long as you live.”
 

Find all of my reviews at goodreads.com/warpedshelves


Happy reading!

Audrey, Warped Shelves

bottom of page