top of page

Review: The Turn of the Screw by Henry James

I only managed to finish reading this because I had gotten through about 70% while stuck on a car ride with nothing else to read. By the time I got home, I was too close to the end to justify DNFing.


Let me list the reasons why I disliked The Turn of the Screw: it is melodramatic, the dialogue is very poor, it is extremely wordy, the constant commas and em-dashes make it choppy and hard to read, the children characters don't behave like children, and there is no ending to the story.


That's the gist of how I feel, and I am just too far over this book to want to go in-depth. I will admit I enjoyed the prologue/introduction (with the guy reading this tale to his friends as a ghost story), but why didn't we cut back to that scene when the narrative finished?!


I can't. I am so done. The book isn't even that spooky. 1/5 stars



 

Find all of my reviews at goodreads.com/warpedshelves


Happy reading!

Audrey, Warped Shelves

bottom of page