top of page

Review: The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life by Dani Jansen

The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life is cute, fun, fluffy, and queer as heck! That said, it didn't move me in any particular way. It is a solidly 3-star novel if ever I've read one.


Things the author nails: the queerness, the pacing, the teenage anxiety, the sisterhood!!! (Okay, I especially loved this aspect because how many books feature teenage sisters (who aren't twins) that are friends too? None!)


What I didn't like so much: the main character makes so many non-issues into big deals for the sake of plot substance, minor characters changed their ways without showing any real growth, the entire climax was underwhelming...


I enjoyed the story (for the most part) while I read it, but now that it's over I feel, again, underwhelmed. In the wide world of books, The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life feels a little like filler, ultimately forgettable.



(This review is based on an ARC of The Year Shakespeare Ruined My Life which I received courtesy of NetGalley and the publisher (Second Story Press).)


Find all of my reviews at Goodreads.com/warpedshelves


Happy reading!

Audrey, Warped Shelves

bottom of page